CompHealth Blog

Credentialing and Legal Tips Employer Resources Physician

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact States List [and Guide for 2020]

IMLC member states as of September 2020

Updated Sept. 22, 2020 with the addition of Kentucky as a as a participating state.

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) makes the process for obtaining a medical license in 28 U.S. states simpler if you already hold your primary license in one of the participating states. The IMLC creates another pathway for licensure and does not otherwise change a state’s existing Medical Practice Act. The IMLC also adopts a uniform and stringent standard for licensure and affirms that the practice of medicine occurs where the patient is located at the time of the physician-patient encounter. Upon licensure via the IMLC, the physician will be under the jurisdiction of the medical board in the state where the patient is located.

States currently accepting applications for multi-state licensure

There are currently 28 states and one territory accepting applications for multi-state licensure:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Georgia*
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Oklahoma*
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont*
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • Washington

*Georgia, Oklahoma, and Vermont are not considered “States of Principle Licensure.” This means you cannot enter into the compact through a GA, OK, or VT license. However, you are able to get a license issued for these states through the compact once you have entered into the compact via another State of Principle Licensure.

Future state board participation:

The following states and districts have passed legislation to be part of the compact, but implementation has been delayed.  Questions regarding the current status and extent of these states’ and boards’ participation in the IMLC should be directed to the respective state boards:

The following states have introduced legislation to join the compact:

Qualification for Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)

To determine if you qualify to participate in this program, review the requirements on the IMLC’s Do I Qualify? page.

For more information about the compact, watch the webinar video below featuring Dr. Jon Thomas, former chair of the IMLCC. You can also visit the IMLCC’s website at

If you’re interested in obtaining licensure through the compact, please reach out to your CompHealth representative or call  888.212.0816.


About the author


Chad Saley

Chad Saley is a public relations manager at CHG Healthcare, the parent company of CompHealth.


Click here to post a comment

    • Check out the IMLC site linked in the beginning of this post. They have more of the details around the current status of the other states.

  • If an MD moves from an SPL to an non-participating state, can you continue to hold the IML if you continue to pay the fees to the SPL state?

    • For the most updated information, we recommend contacting the specific state for which you have questions about. You can find this in the ‘Contact us’ section of the IMLC website (linked to in the article).


Work with a recruiter

First name
Last name
Apply now
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Tell us how to reach you and who you need.

First name
Last name
Comments (optional)
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.